A home away from home

My first year at Falmouth University is coming to an end. Looking back, I am not sure where the time went. I was lucky enough to get along with my flatmates, let alone have them as my new best friends. Of course, we added a few sweethearts to our group and our journey together throughout our first semesters have been nothing but fun.


Coming to university, I think many are nervous and scared. If you have chosen to live in halls you won’t know what kind of people you’re going to live with beforehand, and I know for sure that not everyone has been as lucky as I have. I remember that I was quite nervous, but also very excited to meet my flatmates. Also, I believe that if you go to university with an open mind and heart, it is easier to form friendships and get close to those you will live with. I have learned that the group of people in my flat are amazing, as well as my other friends, and I don’t think I would have had so much fun if IMG_7416it weren’t for them.

I know calling university for a “home away from home” is a bit of a cliche, but it really is a new home. Although it will never replace your real home, it is a home where you have your friends and where you have a chance to grow and learn new things. Many go to university at their most vulnerable age, when everything is a bit difficult and the insecurities are a bit too heavy on ones shoulders. On the other hand, it is also a time where one has to step out of one’s comfort zone and just grow on experiences, failures and success. I think this is why many look back on their time at university and feel that it changed them, not just with knowledge about whatever they studied, but how it changed and built them personally.

This will be the end of my second year of experiencing the student life at university, as I had a year in Norway too. (Read: how I got here). In these two years I have learnt and seen so much, experienced things I never thought I would, made so many new friends and gained loads of new memories.

I cannot wait to see what the next two years will bring.

Amanda.

 

 

3 thoughts on “A home away from home

  1. Yay!! 😀 here’s to hoping the next two years will be even better!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s always hard to be away from home, so it’s nice when you meet friends and have fun.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

